Choosy Beggar Books

Nepal: ‘I was 14 when I was sold’

Posted in Miscellaneous by m on April 23, 2013
Panel from Dan Archer's "Nepal: I War 14 When I Was Sold."

Panel from Dan Archer’s “Nepal: I War 14 When I Was Sold.”

Dan Archer has some interesting reporting in the BBC News magazine today. He has a comic story about human trafficking in Nepal. Instead of writing a traditional narrative, Archer turned his report into a comic. Some of it is typically “illustrated narrative,” but that seems unavoidable in such a comic. This is a new area of journalism that is being explored by the BBC, so kudos to them.

The watercolor is very nice, but most importantly, this is a good piece of journalism with multiple sources and quotes that fits well into the comic format. Hopefully, we’ll get to see more of this from Archer and the BBC.

Leave a comment