Choosy Beggar Books

My Name Is Ozymandias

Posted in Art by mvblair on July 19, 2011

I made this script and drawing for my Dad. The text is Percy Bysshe Shelley’s poem “Ozymandias.” I spent a long time with the calligraphy, so I am proud of it. The picture is from a statue that the British stole from the Egyptians so that school kids can look at it on field trips.

I bought an old frame and painted it with a crackling technique. My Dad proudly displays it on his bookshelf, wedged between his copies of “Bartlett’s” and a library book he borrowed in 1993. I think he really likes the way I crackled the frame, since that’s the only part that is visible.

 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jeffl7 said, on April 18, 2012 at 10:52 AM

    I stumbled on your post in search of images of Ozymandias. But as I read your description of your father’s affection of the crackled frame, I laughed out loud. Just thought you should know that you made my morning better.

    • mvblair said, on April 18, 2012 at 2:54 PM

      But aren’t all dads like that? 😀 Thanks for reading, Jeff!! –Matt


Leave a Reply

